2016 Havel Prize of the Human Rights Foundation goes to Atena Farghadani, Petr Pavlensky, and Umida Akhmedova

May 5, 2016

The New-York based Human Rights Foundation announced on 5 May 2016 that the laureates of the 2016 Václav Havel International Prize for Creative Dissent are:

  • Iranian cartoonist Atena Farghadani,
  • Russian performance artist Petr Pavlensky, and
  • Uzbek photojournalist Umida Akhmedova.
2016 Havel Prize Awarded to Atena Farghadani, Petr Pavlensky, and Umida Akhmedova

Atena Farghadani was a prisoner of conscience of the Iranian regime. She received a 12-year prison sentence for a cartoon she posted on social media depicting Iran’s parliamentarians with animal heads. Farghadani was charged with “colluding against national security,” “spreading propaganda against the system,” and “insulting members of the parliament.” When she was briefly released in 2015, Farghadani publicized the abuse that prisoners suffer in Iranian jails and was promptly put back behind bars. Farghadani then went on hunger strike and suffered a heart attack while in prison. Her case sparked the social media campaign #Draw4Atena, with cartoonists from all over the world sharing their work in support of her case. Farghadani was released on May 3, 2016.

Petr Pavlensky is a Russian artist, best known for a series of performances in which he used self-mutilation to protest the government’s political crackdown. On the night of November 9, 2015 Pavlensky set fire to the front door of the building that historically houses the FSB, Russia’s security services, and its predecessor, the KGB. The door is not in use, so the protest was largely symbolic. Pavlensky explained “The FSB uses unending terror to hold power over 146 million people. The Lubyanka burning door is a glove that society throws in the face of the terrorist threat.” Pavlensky made no attempt to flee and patiently waited for the police in front of the flaming doors with the gasoline tank still in his hands. The resulting image of the FSB’s burning doors came to be seen as a metaphor for the gates of hell. Pavlensky is currently on trial and facing charges of “damaging a cultural heritage site.”

Umida Akhmedova is a photojournalist and the first female documentary filmmaker in Uzbekistan. She specializes in subjects that have historically been regarded as taboo in the country: gender, poverty, and ethnic issues. She has been accused of “slander” and “damaging the country’s image” for publishing a series of photos about life in rural Uzbekistan. “Umida’s work is an inspiration to a new generation of photographers in Uzbekistan. Despite the government’s attempts to manufacture a polished, happy image of the country, she exposes the reality of life in one of the world’s most closed societies” – said John Peder Egenæs, Amnesty International Norway Secretary General.

The three Havel Prize Laureates will receive an artist’s representation of the “Goddess of Democracy,” the iconic statue erected by Chinese students during the Tiananmen Square protests of June 1989. The Laureates will also share a prize of 350,000 Norwegian kroner. HRF founded the Havel Prize with the endorsement of Dagmar Havlová, widow of the late poet, playwright, and statesman Václav Havel. The prize celebrates those who, with bravery and ingenuity, unmask the lie of dictatorship by living in truth. Past laureates include Chinese artist Ai Weiwei, Russian punk protest group Pussy Riot, North Korean democracy activist Park Sang Hak, Saudi women’s rights advocate Manal al-Sharif, and Burmese opposition leader Aung San Suu Kyi.

For more on this award see: http://www.brandsaviors.com/thedigest/award/václav-havel-prize-creative-dissent

The prize ceremony will be broadcast live online at oslofreedomforum.com beginning at 9:30 CET on Wednesday, 25 May. Please email secretariat@havelprize.org for more information, and follow @HRF and @OsloFF on Twitter for updates.

Source: 2016 Havel Prize Awarded to Atena Farghadani, Petr Pavlensky, and Umida Akhmedova | News | Human Rights Foundation


see also: https://thoolen.wordpress.com/tag/vaclav-havel-prize-for-…

One Response to “2016 Havel Prize of the Human Rights Foundation goes to Atena Farghadani, Petr Pavlensky, and Umida Akhmedova”

  1. […] 5 May 2016 I reported on the Havel Prize winners [https://thoolen.wordpress.com/2016/05/05/2016-havel-prize-of-the-human-rights-foundation-goes-to-ate…], including the ‘protest artist’ Pyotr Pavlensky. Now that he has been stripped of this […]

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.

%d bloggers like this: