UN Human Rights Prize 2013 open for nominations till 5 July

May 13, 2013

UN Photo/Eskinder Debebe

The prize, which is awarded to individuals or organizations every five years was first given out 45 years ago on the 20th anniversary of the adoption of the Universal Declaration of Human Rights.

The prize is given to a group of five or more winners for “outstanding achievements in the field of human rights. It is given every 5 years (last time 2008 – see picture above). The prize was established by the General Assembly in 1966, and first awarded in 1968. Nominations are received from Member States, specialized agencies and non-governmental organizations in consultative status and from other appropriate sources.” Nomination forms should be sent to the Office of the High Commissioner for Human Rights. The committee that selects the winners is made up of the Presidents of the General Assembly, the Economic and Social Council and the Human Rights Council, and the Chairs of the Human Rights Council Advisory Committee and of the Commission on the Status of Women.

The closing date for the receipt of nominations is 5 July 2013, and the prizes will be awarded at the General Assembly in New York on 10 December 2013 – the 65th anniversary of the adoption of the Universal Declaration of Human Rights.

More detailed instructions about eligibility and the procedures for nominations can be found at the http://www.ohchr.org/EN/NewsEvents/Pages/hrprize.aspx

via UN Human Rights Prize 2013.


Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.

%d bloggers like this: